I decide how Social Media impacts me

Let’s start off by asking the question, “What is Social Media?” According to Wikipedia, “Social media are interactive computer-mediated technologies that facilitate the creation and sharing of information, ideas, career interests and other forms of expression via virtual communities and networks.” There are many forms of social media such as social gaming, blogging, photo sharing, and social networks. This includes Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram and Twitter. Social media has become a major part of our lives whether we realize it or not. So how has it impacted us? Has it impacted us in a positive, negative way or neither?

Let’s look at the positive side first. Social media allows us to connect with friends and family through virtual social networks. It let’s us express our thoughts, ideas, emotions, and feelings. It gives everyone a voice in any topic or discussion. When it comes to business, it allows owners to engage with customers, advertise, and promote their business. It has become a very important tool for businesses to expand. Through social media, we’re also able to engage with the family and friends. For example, I like to use the filters when taking pictures or videos with the family. Especially with my grandma, grandpa and little brothers who find filters amusing.

Now, the negative side. It has been said that the overuse of social media can lead to addiction. I see how Social Media can be addicting. I, myself can’t seem to go anywhere without getting on my phone to check my Facebook or Snapchat. I even take my phone to the bathroom! Where I’m in for about 30 minutes just scrolling through my newsfeed on Facebook. I can also admit that I use my phone to get on Social Media while at work as well. Sometimes, I tell myself that there may be an emergent text or call so I check it every hour or so. I also check it during class, when I’ve zoned out of a lecture and need a distraction. In reality, I use my phone more often than I should. It wasn’t until I started writing this paper and starting asking myself, “How often do I get on social media in a day?”, that I came to the realization that social media has become a part of my every day life.

In order to get more inside on the topic, I decided to do a survey with friends and family. Turns out that the favorite social media application is Facebook, out of the options of Snapchat, Instagram, and Twitter. Now, when asked, “Overall, how often are you on Social Media in a day?”, the majority of people chose 2-4 hours. I would say that’s about how much time I spend on social media as well. A majority of people admitted to getting on social media while at work and/or class. Guess I’m not the only one huh? It has been said that people have used social media to bully other people. Through the survey, 15% of people admitted to having been bullied on social media. Bullying happens everywhere, not just on social media. When asked, “Would you say Social Media has impacted your life more in a positive, negative way or neither?”, the majority of people chose neither. I think the people who chose neither haven’t really stopped to think about how it has impacted their lives, unless they just don’t use social media.

Overall, I think social media has impacted us in both positive and negative ways. However, I think we’re in control of how we let if impact us. If we see that it’s becoming addicting, then we can chose to use it less often or not at all. As for me, I think I need to stop taking my phone with me to the bathroom.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started